Makin Grammie Proud!

Food, Garden and family

Travel To Cuba minus the passport and embargo stuff.

on July 8, 2011

So when I was 9 may Dad married a woman from Cuba. She  made many things I turned my nose up to. (I was a very picky eater now I am just a semi picky eater) One of my fav things she made was  Black beans and rice. Until then all beans I had eaten were in chili or in a can of refried and all my rice was topped with butter.  Hey i was 9.  So I have asked her and some cuban friends of hers  and I never really got a for sure recipe. So here is what I have come up with .

1 bag of black beans soaked drained and cooked or 2 big ol cans of black beans if you can afford that type of thing.

One whole onion diced

as well as one green bell pepper diced too.

3 garlic cloves minced or pressed thru a garlic press.

2 TBS of vinegar white is ok but cider is better.

1tbs of sugar

3 tbs of Ketchup… don’t question just do it.

a big palmful of ground cumin and another of dried oregano.

2 cups of chicken or veggie stock. .

*Start 2 cups of rice cooking is a steamer or pan according to your rice package directions.

so  get a pot probably a large one and add some oil to the bottom saute up the onion and bell pepper for a few min then add the garlic. Dont burn it.  keep it going till onions are soft  add the herbs and stir it up. add the beans back in with the chicken stock sugar, vinegar and ketchup. Let this simmer for a while. I think mine went for like 30 min in all. I also did a couple smashes with my tater masher  to thicken up the sauce.  Season with salt and pepper to taste. Viola yummy-ness.

In our home we lie to have pork with this meal. If  you want that too i would suggest cutting up a few pork chops into bite size pieces and pan cooking them up while the beans are simmering. To make it even better marinate them in some kind of store bought marinade about an hour before you cook them.  orrrrrrrr Mojo…. google it mah freeeen. Add the pork to the cooked beans.

serve it with rice in the bottom of the bowl then top with beans and maybe some fried plantains on the side. Soooo good I cannot wait to eat my leftovers.

Blessings

Leave a Reply

