Makin Grammie Proud!

Food, Garden and family

Best dang bread EVER!

on April 20, 2010

Ok so in the 2 years i have had this bread machine i have tried many ( and by many i mean hundreds.) of bread recipes.  None of which have fit me perfectly. I  mean they were ok and edible and all but nothing like this one. yes I know it doesn’t use whole grains.. and yes I know  it has milk and butter and salt and… yeah i know… but that is why it doesn’t taste like a brick of cardboard. I don’t know about you but i hate cardboard with my grilled cheese or turkey club BLAH! so here it is.

It is actually very very simple. I used this recipe from king Arthur’s flour company ( http://www.kingarthurflour.com/recipes/bread-machine-breadeasy-as-can-be-recipe). I made a few changes to mine. Just a couple don’t freak out.

For large (1 1/2lb.- 2lb.) machine
1 cup lukewarm water
1/3 cup lukewarm milk

ok 1st big switch up.

I used buttermilk powder here.(http://www.sacofoods.com/culteredbuttermilkblend.html) Because I was out of milk yesterday. It is easy to use but you can sub real buttermilk too just use and equal amount of buttermilk. I highly suggest using buttermilk if you can. YUM.

3 tablespoons butter or margarine
3 3/4 cups King Arthur Unbleached All Purpose Flour

2nd switch up

Here I used all bread flour. But hey  whatever you have I guess.
3 tablespoons sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons salt
1 1/2 teaspoons active dry yeast ( I used bread machine yeast whatever)

So the recipe on the web site says to do the whole thing in your bread machine.. I didn’t I put my machine on the dough cycle and plopped the finished dough in my standard bread pan ( greased a little) and let it rise for 45 more min in a warm spot.  then i tossed it in to  350 DEGREE oven and baked for 35 min.  when it is done  take it out of the pan and let it cool for AT LEAST 30 min but if you are like me  30 min will be all you can wait.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The king Arthur’s web site is chock-a-block full recipes. Plus I like their product.  No need to thank me for this one by the way. Your smiles say so much.

Blessings

5 responses to “Best dang bread EVER!

  1. Judy says:

    You should really try this with King Arthur’s White Whole Wheat, you may be surprised. At any rate, homemade white bread is still eons better than store bought preservative laden stuff, and if you add in a third cup of ground flax, you’ve just added a ton of fiber 🙂

    • sd2cb says:

      I will look for that flour. I have made note of it before I just have to find a store in this small town that sells it. Or buy it in Eugene. either way I am putting it on my list. I might add the flax next time to. Thanks

  2. Joan D says:

    It takes a great deal of control to wait more then 30 minutes to cut into a loaf of homemade bread. Home make is definitely the best bread and I must say I love our classic whole wheat bread recipe the best. If you are not a fan of the classic wheat taste you should try the white whole wheat flour for a milder and sweeter flavor. But a nice loaf of white bread certainly has its place. JMD @KAF

  3. Suzanne says:

    that looks heavenly!

Leave a Reply

